Responsibility

We’re still standing with the Black community

May 25, 2021

Fists being raised in the air for equality
Share on Facebook.Share on TwitterShare on LinkedIn.Share through email.

It has been one year since the world witnessed the murder of George Floyd and, like many, we were relieved to see accountability and justice served. Unfortunately, that is often not the case, and Black lives continue to be impacted. Last year, Galen made a promise that as a company we would continue to help create systemic change. We’ve been listening. We’ve been learning – and unlearning. And we’ve been taking action.

Loblaw has nearly 200,000 colleagues and employees in 2,500 different locations across Canada. Each of us brings different backgrounds and perspectives, and we truly believe that is our strength. Our company’s purpose is to help all Canadians Live Life Well®, and we know this is only possible without any form of discrimination. We have made progress over the last few years with our culture and diversity, equity and inclusion commitments, but we know we have so much more work to do. As we reflect on the past year and continue dialogue and progress, here are some of the ways we have been taking action on Black inclusion and anti-racism.

We’re increasing representation in our leadership positions (Diversity)

Through the collection of voluntary self-identification data, we are better understanding where underrepresentation exists to create change. With these insights, we have made commitments to increase the representation of racialized people in our Board of Directors from 17% to 25%, in executive positions from 20% to 25%, and management positions from 21% to 30%, all by the end of 2024. We’re also specifically monitoring the increase of Black representation in our workforce. To achieve these goals, we’re unpacking our talent programs to break barriers in how we hire, develop and reward our colleagues and employees.

We’re investing in the Black community (Equity)

Our partnership with the Black Business and Professional Association (“BBPA”) remains strong. Last year we made a $100,000 donation and activated a charity wallet in the PC OptimumTM app for customers to donate their PC points to them. In 2020, PC Optimum members donated $34.7 million points - almost $35,000 - to BBPA and their community programs. We’ve held events to make connections with Black professionals and business owners, and our leaders have signed up to be mentors. We’ve also formed a partnership with Black Professionals in Tech Network, and are taking part in educational sessions, leadership circles, networking events and more to see more Black representation in the fast-growing tech space that we are part of.

We’re building empathy and allyship (Inclusion)

To make everyone feel a sense of belonging, we are building empathy and allyship, and challenging our colleagues and employees to change their own behaviours and decision making to build a culture of inclusion. We’ve had many open and honest conversations in big and small forums, eye-opening speaker series, and mandatory training on the basic principles of diversity, equity and inclusion, unbiased hiring practices, and racial profiling and anti-discrimination. We’ve listened to customers about their experiences in our stores and retail environments in general. There have been many brave moments. Many awakenings. And many tears.

We can’t stop. You can’t stop. Let’s keep talking, holding each other accountable, and working hard to break systemic barriers and inequities. Change is long overdue. We owe it to our Black and racialized colleagues, employees, customers, friends, and family members.

These commitments are part of our broader social and environmental responsibility efforts. Read more in our 2020 CSR Report.

Sincerely,

Loblaw’s Inclusion Council

  • Greg Ramier, President, Market Division

  • Zebrina Kassam, SVP, Human Resources

  • Nelm Khangura, VP, Loblaw Technology

  • Alison Burgess, VP, Business Processes

  • Nadeem Mansour, Chief Compliance Officer

  • Mary Macisaac, SVP, Loblaw Brands

  • Melanie Singh, VP, No Frills

  • Sharla Paraskevopoulos​, SVP, Operations

  • Sandra Daniel, VP, Healthcare Businesses, Shoppers Drug Mart

  • Ian Hanning, Chief Financial Officer, PC Financial & Services

  • Bronwyn Towns, VP, Joe Fresh

  • Wendy Hui, VP, Supply Chain

  • Darcy Scott, Director, DC Operations

  • David Markwell, SVP, Loblaw Technology

  • Wes Brown, VP, Marketing

  • Marsha Lindsay, VP, Legal – Human Rights

  • Catherine Thomas, Sr. Director, Corporate Affairs and Communication

  • Rashid Wasti, Chief Talent Officer

  • Mark Wilson, Chief HR Officer

  • Jackie Roberts, VP, Talent and Culture

Have questions?

Find us on Facebook.Find us on Twitter.Find us on LinkedIn.

Responsabilité

Nous soutenons toujours la communauté noire

25 mai 2021

Des poings en l’air pour l’égalité
TBDTBDTBDTBD

Cela fait un an que le monde a été témoin du meurtre de George Floyd et, comme beaucoup, nous avons été soulagés de voir la justice triompher et le coupable, puni. Malheureusement, ce n’est souvent pas le cas, et la vie des Noirs continue d’être touchée. L’année dernière, Galen a fait la promesse qu’en tant qu’entreprise, nous continuerons à créer un changement systémique. Nous avons écouté. Nous avons appris; et désappris. Et nous avons pris des mesures.

À Loblaw, nous sommes près de 200 000 collègues et employés dans 2 500 endroits différents au Canada. Chacun d’entre nous apporte des expériences et des perspectives différentes, et nous croyons vraiment que cela constitue notre force. Notre entreprise a pour but d’aider tous les Canadiens à vivre bien, vivre pleinementMD, et nous savons que cela n’est possible que lorsqu’il n’y a aucune forme de discrimination. Ces dernières années, nous avons fait des progrès avec nos engagements en matière de culture, d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, mais nous savons que nous avons encore beaucoup plus de travail à faire.

Alors que nous réfléchissons à l’année passée et que nous continuons le dialogue et les progrès, voici quelques-unes des façons dont nous avons pris des mesures pour l’inclusion des Noirs et l’antiracisme.

Nous augmentons la représentation dans nos postes de direction (diversité)

Grâce à la collecte de données volontaires d’auto-identification, nous comprenons mieux où il y a sous-représentation pour créer du changement. Grâce à ces informations, nous nous sommes engagés à augmenter la représentation des personnes racialisées de 17 % à 25 % dans notre conseil d’administration, de 20 % à 25 % dans les postes de cadres et de 21 % à 30 % dans les postes de direction, le tout d’ici la fin 2024. Nous surveillons également spécifiquement l’augmentation de la représentation des Noirs au sein de notre main-d’œuvre. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, nous déballons nos programmes de talents afin de briser les barrières dans la façon dont nous embauchons, développons et récompensons nos collègues et employés.

Nous investissons dans la communauté noire (équité)

Notre partenariat avec la Black Business and Professional Association (“BBPA”) est solide. L’année dernière, nous avons fait un don de 100 000 $ et activé un portefeuille de bienfaisance dans l’appli PC OptimumMC pour permettre aux clients de faire don de leurs points PC à la BBPA. En 2020, les membres PC Optimum ont fait don de 34,7 millions de dollars, soit près de 35 000 $, à la BBPA et à leurs programmes communautaires. Nous avons organisé des événements pour créer des liens avec des professionnels et des propriétaires d’entreprise noirs, et nos dirigeants se sont inscrits pour être mentors. Nous avons également formé un partenariat avec Black Professionals in Tech Network, et nous prenons part à des séances éducatives, à des cercles de leadership, à des événements de réseautage et plus encore pour voir plus de représentation de personnes noires dans l’espace technologique en pleine croissance dont nous faisons partie.

Nous promouvons l’empathie et les alliances (inclusion)

Pour que chacun ait un sentiment d’appartenance, nous promouvons l’empathie et les alliances, et nous mettons nos collègues et employés au défi de changer leurs propres comportements et leur prise de décisions pour créer une culture d’inclusion. Nous avons eu de nombreuses conversations ouvertes et honnêtes dans de petits et grands forums, des séries de conférenciers révélatrices et une formation obligatoire sur les principes de base de la diversité, de l’équité et de l’inclusion, sur les pratiques d’embauche impartiales, et sur le profilage racial et l’antidiscrimination. Nous avons écouté les clients au sujet de leurs expériences dans nos magasins et dans les environnements de vente au détail en général. Il y a eu de nombreux moments empreints de courage. Beaucoup de révélations. Et beaucoup de larmes.

Nous ne pouvons pas nous arrêter. Vous ne pouvez pas vous arrêter. Il faut continuer à dialoguer, à se tenir responsables les uns les autres et à travailler sans relâche pour éliminer les barrières et les inégalités systémiques. Des changements s'imposent depuis longtemps. Nous le devons à nos collègues, employés, clients, amis et membres de la famille noirs et racialisés.

Ces engagements font partie de nos efforts plus larges en matière de responsabilité sociale et environnementale. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rapport de RSE 2020.

Cordialement,

Conseil d’inclusion de Loblaw

  • Greg Ramier, Président, Division Marché

  • Zebrina Kassam, VPP, Ressources humaines

  • Nelm Khangura, VP, Technologie Loblaw

  • Alison Burgess, VP, Processus d’entreprise

  • Nadeem Mansour, Chef de la conformité

  • Mary MacIsaac, VPP, Marques Loblaw

  • Melanie Singh, VP, No Frills

  • Sharla Paraskevopoulos, VPP, Exploitation

  • Sandra Daniel, VP, Entreprise de soins de santé, Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix

  • Ian Hanning, Chef de la direction financière, Services financiers PC

  • Bronwyn Towns, VP, Joe Fresh

  • Wendy Hui, VP, Chaîne d’approvisionnement

  • Darcy Scott, Directeur, Exploitations des CD

  • David Markwell, VPP, Technologie Loblaw

  • Wes Brown, VP, Marketing

  • Marsha Lindsay, VP, Services juridiques – Droits de la personne

  • Catherine Thomas, Directrice principale, Affaires corporatives et communications

  • Rashid Wasti, Directeur, Gestion des talents

  • Mark Wilson, Directeur, Ressources humaines

  • Jackie Roberts, VP, Talent et Culture

Vous avez des questions?

Trouvez-nous sur FacebookTrouvez-nous sur TwitterTrouvez-nous sur LinkedIn