People

Rabie scores a full time gig

October 28, 2021

Rabie stands in front of desks inside Loblaw’s head office
Share on Facebook.Share on TwitterShare on LinkedIn.Share through email.

As one of the winners of the inaugural Loblaw Striving for Operational Excellence case competition last fall, Rabie Shah was happy just for the chance to claim his prize: an interview for an internship at the company.

“I thought it was a good way to get my foot in the door,” says the 24-year-old, who graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce from Toronto’s Ted Rogers School of Management (Ryerson) in December 2020. But instead of a summer internship, Rabie landed a full-time job. He started as a Senior Analyst on the Labour Management Team in April.

“I always wanted to work for Loblaw; The fact that it’s a Canadian company aligns with my values. The focus on community and the case competition is a great example of that,” Rabie shares.

Organized by the Enterprise Operations team, this was the first case competition the team has put together. Students from the Ted Rogers School of Management were asked to find innovative solutions to real business problems. Rabie’s team beat five others with an idea for an app that guides customers through stores and helps them to locate items they are looking for digitally.

During the competition, each team was paired with a mentor. Rabie’s team worked with Marc Detesan, Director, Labour Management, who fielded their questions and provided information so they could complete their case. He says this made all the difference.

“Marc was very supportive and passionate about the business, which was great for me; I fed off his energy.”

Rabie stayed in touch with Marc, and also made other connections in the business who helped him along the way, ultimately connecting him with his current manager.

“That is what's great about this kind of thing. Win or lose, you can make meaningful connections.”

He’ll be helping to make those connections for students participating in the 2021 edition of the competition as one of the co-organizers. This time around, teams from both the Smith School of Business at Queen’s University and Ted Rogers School of Management will have the chance to compete, which Rabie says raises the stakes. “It’s going to be exciting.”

It’s a real full-circle moment for him.

“Although it was the first case competition that the Enterprise Operations team has run, I was really impressed about how organized it was and the opportunity to be paired with a mentor. I want to shine a light on what our organization is doing and I want more people in the organization to know about this.”

Have questions?

Find us on Facebook.Find us on Twitter.Find us on LinkedIn.

Personnes

Rabie obtient un emploi à temps plein

28 octobre 2021

Rabie se tient devant les bureaux du siège social de Loblaw.
TBDTBDTBDTBD

En tant que l’un des gagnants de la première étude de cas « viser l’excellence opérationnelle » de Loblaw l’automne dernier, Rabie Shah était heureux d’avoir la chance de réclamer son prix : une entrevue pour un stage au sein de l’entreprise.

« J’ai pensé qu’il s’agissait d’une bonne façon de mettre le pied dans la porte », dit l’homme de 24 ans, qui a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce de la Ted Rogers School of Management (Ryerson) de Toronto en décembre 2020. Mais plutôt qu’un stage d’été, Rabie a obtenu un emploi à temps plein. Il a commencé à titre d’analyste principal au sein de l’équipe de gestion du personnel en avril.

« J’ai toujours voulu travailler pour Loblaw; le fait qu’il s’agit d’une entreprise canadienne correspond à mes valeurs. L’accent mis sur la communauté et l’étude de cas est un excellent exemple de cela », partage Rabie.

Organisée par l’équipe de l’exploitation de l’entreprise, cette étude de cas a été la première que l’équipe a mise sur pied. On a demandé aux étudiants de la Ted Rogers School of Management de trouver des solutions novatrices à de vrais problèmes d’affaires. L’équipe de Rabie a battu cinq autres personnes avec une idée pour une application qui guide les clients dans les magasins et les aide à trouver les articles qu’ils cherchent numériquement.

Pendant l’étude, chaque équipe a été jumelée à un mentor. L’équipe de Rabie a travaillé avec Marc Detesan, directeur, Gestion du personnel, qui a répondu à leurs questions et fourni de l’information pour qu’ils puissent remplir leur étude. Il dit que cela a fait toute la différence.

« Marc était très coopératif et passionné par l’entreprise, ce qui était excellent pour moi; j’ai alimenté son énergie. »

Rabie est resté en contact avec Marc et a également établi d’autres liens au sein de l’entreprise qui l’ont aidé tout au long du parcours, ce qui lui a permis de connecter avec son gestionnaire actuel.

« C’est ce qui est génial à propos de ce genre de chose. Gagnez ou perdez, vous pouvez créer des liens significatifs. »

Il aidera à créer ces liens pour les étudiants participant à l’édition 2021 d’étude en tant que coorganisateur. Cette fois-ci, les équipes de la Smith School of Business de l’Université Queen’s et de la Ted Rogers School of Management auront la chance de participer, ce qui, selon Rabie, fera monter les enchères. « Ça va être excitant. »

C’est un moment qui boucle la boucle pour lui.

« Bien que ce soit la première étude de cas que l’équipe de l’exploitation de l’entreprise ait dirigée, j’ai été vraiment impressionné par son organisation et par l’occasion d’être jumelé à un mentor. Je veux mettre en vedette ce que fait notre entreprise et je veux que plus de gens de l’entreprise en sachent à ce sujet. »

Vous avez des questions?

Trouvez-nous sur FacebookTrouvez-nous sur TwitterTrouvez-nous sur LinkedIn