Products and services

Joe Fresh introduces affordable absorbent underwear

November 8, 2022

A picture of the underwear placed on a pouf in a light filled room.
Share on Facebook.Share on TwitterShare on LinkedIn.Share through email.

From the beginning, it was all about accessibility. When the Joe Fresh team began creating its new absorbent underwear, they knew they wanted it to be accessible to customers at an affordable price compared to similar products on the market.   

“We’re always looking to bring products to the market that fill a need for our customers,” says Lisa Steele, Director of Communications at Joe Fresh. “It’s super important to us to provide something that has a lot of value with a very accessible price point.”  

During the process, the Joe Fresh team had discussions with the team for the LOVE YOU by Shoppers Drug MartTM program about its work on period poverty and the inaccessibility of period products for menstruating Canadians in many rural and remote communities.  

“Some of the statistics the LOVE YOU by Shoppers Drug Mart team shared with us really hit home,” Lisa says. For example, nearly a quarter of Canadian women have reportedly struggled to afford menstrual products. In remote communities, the cost of these products is so much higher—from $16 to $50 for a single box of tampons or pads. 

“It sparked for us the idea of partnering with a charity to make our period underwear even more accessible,” Lisa says. “Moon Time Sisters, which improves access to menstrual products for Indigenous women in remote communities across Canada, felt like a great option.”  

With the launch of the new absorbent underwear this month, Joe Fresh will donate 10,000 pairs—and the LOVE YOU by Shoppers Drug Mart team will donate $100,000—to Moon Time Sisters, which is part of the registered Canadian charity True North Aid. Since it was founded in 2017, Moon Time Sisters has supported more than 25 communities. 

“Being able to offer absorbent underwear will help us fulfill the requests of menstruators while supporting the environment with a reusable option,” says Nicole White, Moon Time Sisters’ founder. “This partnership is a powerful step forward in increasing period equity across Canada.” 

The underwear will also be for sale in stores and online, in a two-pack for$29 plus taxes. Made from anti-microbial, moisture-wicking fabric, they’re machine-washable and size-inclusive, from S to 3X.  

“You can use them on the days you have your period and all the days in between,” Lisa says.“ They’re moisture-absorbent and multi-functional—they keep you comfortable against blood, sweat, and urine.”  

Joe Fresh isn’t the first apparel retailer to create period underwear, but the price point sets it apart from other brands, Lisa says. This product is an affordable option for people, particularly those who are curious about trying absorbent underwear for the first time. 

“We hope that by adding absorbent underwear to the Joe Fresh assortment, we have created another item that makes people feel comfortable and good in their skin.” Lisa says. “Most of all, we want people to feel great in our clothes, in our accessories, and in our intimates.”  

Have questions?

Find us on Facebook.Find us on Twitter.Find us on LinkedIn.

Produits et services

Joe Fresh présente des culottes absorbantes abordables

8 novembre 2022

Une photo de la culotte placée sur un pouf dans une pièce illuminée.
TBDTBDTBDTBD

Dès le début, tout était une question d’accessibilité. Lorsque l’équipe Joe Fresh a commencé la conception de ses nouvelles culottes absorbantes, elle savait qu’elle voulait les rendre accessibles aux clients, en proposant des prix abordables comparativement aux produits similaires sur le marché.   

« Notre objectif vise toujours à offrir des produits qui répondent aux besoins de nos clients », explique Lisa Steele, Directrice des communications pour Joe Fresh. « Il est très important pour nous de fournir des articles à grande valeur à un prix accessible. »  

Tout au long du processus, l’équipe Joe Fresh a discuté avec l’équipe du programme AIMEZ VOUS de PharmaprixMC de ses efforts pour lutter contre la précarité menstruelle et de l’inaccessibilité de produits menstruels pour les Canadiennes de plusieurs communautés rurales et éloignées.  

« Certaines statistiques présentées par l’équipe AIMEZ VOUS de Pharmaprix nous ont vraiment marqués », déplore Lisa. Par exemple, près d’un quart des Canadiennes ont déjà eu de la difficulté à se procurer des produits menstruels. Dans les communautés éloignées, le coût de ces produits est beaucoup plus élevé, soit de 16 à 50 $ pour une seule boîte de tampons ou de serviettes. 

« Cela nous a donné l’idée de collaborer avec un organisme de bienfaisance pour rendre nos sous-vêtements menstruels encore plus accessibles », note Lisa. « Moon Time Sisters, qui améliore l’accès aux produits menstruels pour les femmes autochtones dans les communautés éloignées du Canada, semblait une excellente option. »  

Avec le lancement des nouvelles culottes absorbantes ce mois-ci, Joe Fresh fera don de 10 000 paires et l’équipe AIMEZ VOUS de Pharmaprix fera un don de 100 000 $ à Moon Time Sisters, qui fait partie de l’organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré True North Aid. Depuis sa fondation en 2017, Moon Time Sisters soutient plus de 25 communautés. 

« Pouvoir offrir des sous-vêtements absorbants nous permet de répondre à la demande des canadiennes qui ont leur règle, tout en soutenant l’environnement grâce à un produit réutilisable », souligne Nicole White, fondatrice de Moon Time Sisters. « Ce partenariat constitue un pas important vers l’équité en matière de produits menstruels partout au pays. » 

Les culottes seront également vendues en magasin et en ligne, dans un emballage de deux pour 29 $, taxes en sus. Les culottes sont composées de tissu antimicrobien absorbant l’humidité, elles sont lavables à la machine et se déclinent dans les tailles P à 3X.  

« Vous pouvez les porter pendant vos règles ou tout au long du mois », précise Lisa. « Elles sont absorbantes et multifonctionnelles, vous serez donc confortables malgré le sang, la sueur et l’urine. »  

Joe Fresh n’est pas le premier détaillant de vêtements à créer des sous-vêtements menstruels, c’est le prix qui distingue l’entreprise des autres, selon Lisa. Ce produit est une option abordable pour les femmes, surtout celles qui veulent essayer les culottes absorbantes pour la première fois. 

« Nous espérons qu’en ajoutant des culottes absorbantes à l’assortiment Joe Fresh, nous proposons un article de plus qui permet aux gens de se sentir confortables et bien dans leur peau », déclare Lisa. « Plus que tout, nous voulons que les gens se sentent bien lorsqu’ils portent nos vêtements, nos accessoires et nos sous-vêtements. »  

Vous avez des questions?

Trouvez-nous sur FacebookTrouvez-nous sur TwitterTrouvez-nous sur LinkedIn